Tags

, , , , ,

Congratulations President Obama on you innauguration!  And congratulations also to us – the people of the The United States – for overcoming the divisiveness that has separated this nation for too long!

I grew up in the ’60s Midwest and I saw segregation and discrimination first hand – my school, my neighborhood, my teachers were all white; I overheard the adults and, as I got older, argued even with my own father; I saw Selma on TV – and if anyone told me back then that I would be celebrating the innauguration of an African-American President, I would have said, “Dream on!.”

But more than finally getting past racial barriers, we, the voters, have finally made a real choice of a leader who, with our help and support, can get us out of this mess!

It seems to me that after all the years of  bad and, at times, horribly destructive and ignorant leadership, that finally we have a REAL President!  Obama is intelligent; he is also willing to LISTEN TO ALL SIDES of the issues; and Obama – so far – is making good on what he told us he would do during his campaign.  Obama is proving everyday that he really takes the Office and the People of this country seriously.  Rather than just going along with the status quo like some of his predecessors, Obama is setting the pace for open discussion and solutions.  Keep up the good work, Mr. President!

Lao Tzu, the ancient sage, said that “the great leader is he who the people say, we did it ourselves.”  To shouts of “Yes, We Can!” it appears that this time, hopefully, we are on the right track!

