It seems that there is something else in play when it comes to ASU’s reasoning to ask President Obama to speak at their commencement ceremony while denying him an honorary degree which is usually bestowed by universities in such proceedings.

While it’s true that universities have their own methods of selection, at least ASU should come up with a reason for denial that makes sense!

According to a letter from ASU’s communications director, the university doesn’t give honorary degrees to “sitting politicians.”


Then why did they give an honorary degree to Senator Goldwater and Justice O’Conner while they were still active in public life?

It might have something to do with their both being Arizonans and Republicans.  Or maybe the fact that an Arizonan (McCain) lost to Obama in the last election.

Anyway, here is a list of past honorary recipients from the university’s website:

ASU should be embarrassed!